How to delete all emails in Gmail app

what to know

  • Swipe up to load up to 251 emails in your inbox.
  • Click Select All > Delete to delete emails in Gmail app in bulk.
  • Repeat this operation until all Gmail emails are deleted.

This article explains the steps on how to delete all emails at once in the official Gmail app on iPhone and Android. While it's not possible to empty your entire Gmail inbox with a single click in the app, you can batch delete up to 251 emails at a time and then repeat the process until you've deleted the desired number.

The steps on this page work with both the Android and iOS Gmail apps.

Here are the steps to empty your inbox in the Gmail app by deleting multiple emails in bulk.

  1. Open the Gmail app and swipe up repeatedly to scroll down and load as many emails as possible.

    The screen limit when you open the Gmail app is 50 emails, but if you scroll down as far as you can, that limit should increase to 251 emails.

  2. Click to select all . Every visible email in your inbox will now be selected.

  3. Click the delete icon to delete all selected emails.

  4. All selected emails will now be deleted.

    The "Undo" option will appear in the lower right corner of the screen for a few seconds. If you make a mistake, just click on it to undo the above removal process.

  5. Repeat the above steps until all your emails have been deleted from the Gmail app.

If you have thousands of emails in your inbox and don't have time to delete multiple emails in bulk on the Gmail app, you can delete all emails at once with just a few clicks in your web browser.

  1. Click the selection box next to the refresh icon at the top of the screen.

  2. Click the new text link that says "Select all conversations in your inbox." Now, every email in your Gmail inbox will be selected.

  3. Click the delete icon.

  4. Due to the scale of this operation, a confirmation message will appear. Click OK to delete all emails immediately.

When you delete an email from your Gmail inbox, it is moved to the Gmail Trash folder. All emails in the Trash folder can be moved back to the Inbox at any time within 30 days of the deletion process.

After 30 days, all emails will be permanently deleted from the Trash folder.

Here's how to recover multiple emails in the Gmail app.

  1. In your Gmail inbox, click the hamburger menu icon in the upper left corner.

  2. Click on the trash can .

  3. Long press on the email you want to undelete.

    Gmail is customized based on your location. So in my case the bin is called Bin. Depending on your location, it may say Trash or Trash.

  4. Click another email to select it.

    If you want to recover all emails in the Trash folder, click Select All .

  5. Click the ellipsis in the upper right corner.

  6. Select Move .

  7. Click on your inbox .

  8. The selected emails will now be moved back to your Gmail inbox.

Yes, you can delete your Gmail account and all of its emails and associated data. Google offers an official method to delete a Gmail account that only takes a few minutes to perform and protects other aspects of the connected Google account, such as your YouTube account.