What is the Netflix DVD rental plan?

notes

Netflix ended its DVD rental service on September 29, 2023. For more information, see Netflix's FAQ. This article is retained for archival purposes.

Netflix used to have two separate services: an online streaming platform accessed through www.netflix.com and other apps, and a DVD rental program through dvd.netflix.com where they sent you DVDs in the mail .

Netflix's DVD lineup includes some TV shows and movies that are not available on its streaming service. You can watch DVDs and Blu-ray discs at the same time, and there are several plans to choose from depending on how many discs you want to borrow at the same time.

There are three DVD Netflix plans. All come with unlimited discs per month, no late fees, free shipping and returns, DVDs and Blu-rays, and no long-term commitment (just month-to-month).

The only difference between these plans is the number of discs you can have at the same time:

  • Basic : $9.99/month; one disc at a time
  • Standard : $14.99/month; two discs at a time
  • Premium : $19.99/month; three discs at a time

If you already subscribe to Netflix's streaming service, follow these steps, otherwise skip to the next set of instructions:

These instructions are for using a desktop web browser, but you can also sign up using the DVD Netflix mobile app.

  1. Access DVD Netflix and log in using your Netflix information.

  2. Select Add DVD plan .

  3. Select the plan you want to subscribe to and select Get Started .

  4. Fill out your shipping information and select Get Started .

If you don't currently have a Netflix account, please follow these steps:

  1. Visit DVD Netflix at DVD.com.

  2. Select Register .

  3. Select the plan you want and select Start .

  4. Enter your email address, choose a password, and select Continue .

  5. Enter your shipping information and press Continue .

  6. Provide payment details and select Start Membership .

Netflix automatically sends you DVDs based on what you add to your personal queue. The order in which you receive them depends on how they are arranged in the queue.

Once you return the DVD, the next title on the list will be sent, and so on.

Here's how to add movies to your DVD Netflix queue, then adjust which ones you'll get first:

  1. In DVD Netflix, select Add to Queue or Add , depending on which screen you're viewing, next to any DVD you want.

    To add an entire season of a TV show, select the season you want to rent and select Add All to Queue .

    You can find titles by searching by name, character, or genre. There's also a browse menu for finding popular movies, new releases, and Netflix's top 100 titles.

  2. Manage your DVDs by opening your queue via the Queue menu at the top of the site. You can adjust the order by dragging the header up or down. Hover your mouse over an item and select the trash can icon to delete it.

Mobile users can also manage their DVD Netflix queue. Click the plus sign to add the movie to your TV show queue, then use the disc icon in the upper right corner to edit the order or delete the DVD.

You must return the DVD to Netflix to get the next one from the queue.

Returning rented DVDs to Netflix is ​​easy. Simply place the disc in the sleeve and envelope that came with it and drop it in the mailbox or drop it off at your local post office.

You can exit the DVD Netflix program at any time to stop getting DVDs from Netflix.

If you have a Netflix streaming plan, ending your DVD plan will not affect it.

When you cancel your Netflix DVD service, your queue will remain available for 10 months in case you decide to reopen your account. All DVDs must be returned before the end of the billing period to avoid additional charges.

  1. Sign in to Netflix at netflix.com or using the Netflix or DVD Netflix mobile app.

  2. Hover over your profile image in the upper right corner of the screen and select Account . If you're using the app, go to More > Account to open your account information in your browser.

  3. Select Cancel DVD Plan from the Plan Details section.

  4. Check the box next to Continue with cancellation and select Continue .

  5. Scroll down and select Yes, cancel my account .

  6. Select Done on the last page.