Everything you need to know about the star-studded Barbie soundtrack

Taylor Swift's Speak Now (Taylor's Version) has some summer album competition, courtesy of Barbie . Yes, if the number of A-list artists and up-and-comers featured on the highly anticipated record is any indication, Barbie's soundtrack will likely be on endless loop.

"Barbie" director Greta Gerwig hired Mark Ronson, who has worked with stars including Lady Gaga, Miley Cyrus and Bruno Mars, to direct the film's soundtrack plays a key role. "The lyrics you hear are in response to what's happening on the screen, so the music becomes more than just music - it becomes a device that enhances the audience watching and experiencing the content, and has to be the voice of the audience," star Margotello Bi told Rolling Stone in June.

According to Ronson, he was instructed to "write a catchy pop song for a choreographed dance scene and an '80s-style power ballad for Ken." That first assignment spawned the disco jam "Dance the Night," sung by film star Dua Lipa and released as the soundtrack's lead single in May.

As for Ken’s power ballad? Ryan Gosling sang the song himself, and fans are already calling for the song to win an Oscar. While Barbie was in the editing stages, the rest of the lineup came naturally, with Ronson and Gerwig introducing the film to new artists on their wish list "weekly" but only allowing them to watch select scenes to Get inspired.

Read on to learn everything you need to know about the Barbie soundtrack.

What artists are featured on the Barbie soundtrack?

On May 25, "Rolling Stone" magazine announced the impressive lineup of artists on the Barbie soundtrack. The list of A-list stars includes Lizzo, Nicki Minaj, Charli XCX, Karol G, HAIM, Dominic Fike, Ice Spice, Khalid, PinkPantheress, Tame Impala, GAYLE, Fifty Fifty, Ava Max, The Kid Laroi and Kali. Aqua's seminal hit "Barbie Girl" also appears on the soundtrack as a sample of Minaj's collaboration with Ice Spice. Of course, Gosling sang an epic power ballad written for the film, "I'm Just Ken."

However, as of press time, there are still two mysterious artists yet to be revealed. After teasing Barbie on social media, Billie Eilish was confirmed as the first remaining artist on July 6, with the singer revealing she wrote a song titled "What Was I Made For?" song. Along with her brother and collaborator Finneas. "We made this song for Barbie and it's definitely concerning to me," she wrote in capital letters. "This movie will change your life and hopefully this song will change your life too. Get ready to cry."

View on Instagram

On July 10, Sam Smith was revealed as the final artist on the soundtrack, stating that their song was inspired by none other than Ken. "I can't express how excited I am to be a part of this iconic film's soundtrack," they posted on Instagram. "The incredible @iammarkronson and Greta Gerwig invited me to write for one of the scenes from Ken's perspective. A song that, to be honest, we’re really interested in.”

View on Instagram

What is the Barbie Soundtrack tracklist?

With the additions of Eilish and Smith, the full lineup for the Barbie soundtrack is now complete. Read the full Barbie tracklist below.

  1. "Pink" - Lizzo
  2. "Dancing Night" - Dua Lipa
  3. “Barbie World” – Nicki Minaj and Ice Spice (with Aqua)
  4. “Driving at Speed” — Charli XCX
  5. "Watati" - Karol G (feat. Aldo Ranks)
  6. "I am a man" - Sam Smith
  7. "Real World Journey" - Taming the Impala
  8. "I'm just Ken" - Ryan Gosling
  9. "Hey Blondie" - Dominic Fike
  10. "Home" - HAIM
  11. “What was I born for?” — Billie Eilish
  12. "Forever Again" - The LaRoy Kid
  13. "Silver Plate" - Khalid
  14. "Angel" - Pink Panther
  15. "Butterfly" - Gayle
  16. "Choose your warrior" - Ava Max
  17. "Barbie Dreams" - Fifty Fifty (feat. Kaliii)

When will the Barbie soundtrack be released?

While new songs from the film's soundtrack will debut each week leading up to the film's release, with Eilish's just-announced ballad set to drop on July 13, the full Barbie soundtrack will be released on July 21, the day the film premieres worldwide. The same day it was released.