Everything About Miley Cyrus’ Endless Summer Album

Miley Cyrus is throwing another "Party in the U.S." and we're all invited. On January 5, the singer announced her eighth studio album, Endless Summer Vacation , which has been described as a "love letter" to her adopted hometown of Los Angeles. The new record comes more than two years after she released "Plastic Hearts" In 2020, the Grammy nominee is taking a fresh yet nostalgic pop-rock direction.

Cyrus released the album's lead single "Flowers" on January 13, a release date that coincides with a famous ex in Cyrus' life. "Flowers" was an instant hit, with fans pointing out her relationship with ex-husband Liam Hemsworth and coming up with a number of wild theories based on the attention-grabbing video. But the song's staying power far outstrips that of her predecessor. On February 27, the same day she announced the album's tracklist, "Flowers" spent its sixth consecutive week at No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. The self-love anthem also became the most played song in a single week in Spotify history.

Here's everything you need to know about Cyrus' new album.

Endless summer vacation track list

On February 27, Cyrus unveiled the "Endless Summer" tracklist, which features new footage from her album photo shoot and, if the clip playing in the background is any indication, a possible new music video. "Flowers" from the album will feature 12 new songs, including demos of her No. 1 hits and collaborations with Brandi Carlile and Sia, both of whom sang with Cyrus during Miley's New Year's Eve party special. On the producer side, Cyrus will reunite with her Bangerz collaborator Mike Will Made-It, with additional producers being produced by Kid Harpoon, Greg Kurstin and Tyler Johnson.

The track list of " Endless Summer Vacation" is as follows:

  1. "flower"
  2. "tired"
  3. "Rose colored lenses"
  4. "A Thousand Miles" (feat. Brandi Carlile)
  5. "you"
  6. "handstand"
  7. "river"
  8. "Purple Chemistry"
  9. "Foot of Clay" (feat. Sia)
  10. "Wildcard"
  11. "island"
  12. "Wonder Woman"
  13. "Flower" (demo)

Endless Summer Release Date

"Endless Summer" will be released on Friday, March 10th. The singer also revealed the album cover, a striking photo of her hanging from an acrobatic stage. The cover stunt was done entirely by Cyrus and no visual effects were used, according to a press release.

The album is available for pre-order and pre-save on all music platforms, and is available exclusively on vinyl on Cyrus’ online store.

Disney+ Backyard Special

On March 3, Cyrus announced that she would be reuniting with Disney for a new version of her beloved "Backyard Sessions" show. "Endless Summer Vacation" (Backyard Sessions) will begin streaming on Disney+ on March 10 at 1pm ET/10am PT, just hours after the album's release. But instead of performing in her backyard like her previous videos, Cyrus filmed the special at the same house where she shot the "Flowers" video (and where Frank Sinatra once lived) .

During the concert special, Cyrus will perform live for the first time several new songs from "Flowers" and "Endless Summer Vacation ," as well as "one of her classic songs," according to a press release. She will also perform a "special performance" with Rufus Wainwright. The special marks Cyrus' first collaboration with Disney in 12 years since "Hannah Montana" ended in 2011, with the company announcing "Welcome home" on Twitter.

endless summer vacation trailer

Along with announcing the release date, Cyrus also released a trailer for the album, in which she recites cryptic and slurred dialogue, while also showing off several visuals that nod to Los Angeles, including palm trees and her emerging from a swimming pool. Close-up.

"We meet under dim neon lights, past manta rays and palm trees," she says in voiceover. "Glowing creatures shot down from high places. Electric eels filled with red venom. In the sky we could see riders on horses, riding comets, laughing towards us. My friend Big Twitch ( Big Twitchy sailed into the light and surfed the North Break. We danced until there was nothing left, because that’s all we knew.”

What is "Endless Summer Vacation" about?

The album was recorded in Los Angeles, with Cyrus describing "Endless Summer" as her "love letter to Los Angeles" in a press release, boasting that the album is representative of her growth over the past year. "The music and images of Endless Summer Vacation reflect the strength she found in focusing on her physical and mental health," it reads. However, fans suspect the album's lead single "Flowers" is actually about her 2019 split from ex-husband Liam Hemsworth for a variety of reasons.

"Flowers" opens in theaters on January 13, which appears to be a job for Hemsworth on his birthday. Lyrics include "I can buy myself flowers/I can hold my own hand/I can make myself dance/I can love you more than you can," making it clear that the song is a mature breakup anthem. Self-love and empowerment.