Black Panther: Wakanda Forever soundtrack features a meaningful Easter egg

Four years ago, the first Black Panther soundtrack changed the game for superhero movies. Not only did composer Ludwig Göransson spend more than a month traveling to Senegal and South Africa to learn the local rhythms of the film's score, but Kendrick Lamar also curated the score, giving us With iconic tracks such as "All the Stars" and "Pray for Me" (collaborations). with SZA and The Weeknd respectively). It's safe to say that expectations for the Black Panther: Wakanda Forever soundtrack were high.

What better way to exceed those expectations than with the return of Rihanna? "Lift Me Up," the emotional song she wrote for the film, is her first solo music since the release of 2016's ANTI .

"We're looking for a great artist who can tell the story of the movie, embrace the themes of the movie, and bring them to the audience in a different package," director Ryan Coogler said in an interview with Marvel. "That's what Kendrick did so well in the first movie, and this movie is different. It makes sense, it's going to be a woman, it makes sense, it's going to be not just a Someone who has words and can express the feeling of motherhood, because that’s a major theme of the film.”

View on Instagram

Coogler added that Rihanna told him, "I'm doing this for Chad" - referring to the late Chadwick Boseman, who stars in the 2020 Black Panther sequel died before reprising his role as T'Challa. On the same day that "Wakanda Forever" was officially released , Rihanna released another song related to the movie: "Rebirth," which ties in closely with the film's themes of grief and family. "I would give my heart to this place/I would give my soul or whatever it takes and never run away/I would relive this just to see your face again/I know you would do the same Things are born again,” one section reads.

Goranson told Screen Rant that other songs on the soundtrack include music written specifically for the film by local artists in Mexico and Nigeria. “We wrote songs based on the script, and as soon as I got the songs I would send them to Ryan, who would then play them to the actors on set,” he explains.

There's also a sort of Easter egg hidden in the soundtrack. Currently, if you start typing "Wakanda" on Spotify, you may notice that the screen background turns purple - and if you listen to Spotify's official playlist of movies, the progress bar for each song will be the same color, like a heart The same herb that featured prominently in both Black Panther movies.

Next up is the full soundtrack of "Wakanda Forever" :

  • "Lift Me Up" by Rihanna
  • “Love and Loyalty (Believe)” by DBN Gogo, Sino Msolo, Kamo Mphela, Young Stunna and Busiswa
  • "Alone" by Burna Boy
  • "No Woman Cries" by Tems
  • "Árboles Bajo El Mar" by Vivir Quintana and Mara Advertencia Lirika
  • "Con La Brisa" by Foudeqush and Ludwig Göransson
  • "La Vida" by Snow Tha Product and E-40
  • "Interlude" by Stormzy
  • "Back for You" by Fireboy DML
  • "They Wanted, But Didn't Have" by Tobe Nwigwe and Fat Nwigwe
  • "Laayli' kuxa'ano'one" by Adn Maya Colectivo, Pat Boy, Yaalen K'uj and All Mayan Winik
  • “Limoncello” by OG DAYV and Future
  • "Anya Mmiri" by CKay and PinkPantheress
  • "Wake Up" by Bloody Civilian and Rema
  • "Pantera" by Aleman and Rema
  • “Jele” by DBN Gogo, Sino Msolo, Kamo Mphela, Young Stunna and Busiswa
  • "Inframundo" by Blue Rojo
  • “No Digas Mi Nombre” by Calle x Vida and Foudeqush
  • "Mi Pueblo" by Guadalupe de Jesus Chen Pute
  • "Rebirth" by Rihanna